Did you know that the federal Fair Housing Act regulates the language used in real estate advertising? According to Fair Housing guidelines, home advertising cannot say anything that could be conveyed as discriminatory or exclusionary in any way.

Seven classes are protected by the Fair Housing Act:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Religion
  • National Origin
  • Sex
  • Familial Status
  • Handicap

To give you an idea of how this works in day-to-day advertising, here is a list of terms you should refrain from using along with potential alternatives.

  • Sports-minded  (Alternative: Bonus Room great as den/office/workout room/etc…..Sports fields within the neighborhood)
  • Bachelor apartment
  • In-law apartment   (Alternative: Guest Quarters)
  • Couples
  • Singles Only
  • Mature
  • Married
  • Seniors   (Can mention if an Age Restricted or 55+ Community)
  • Golden Agers
  • Family-friendly   (Alternative: Friendly Neighborhood/Community with parks and playgrounds or can mention if community pool includes a kiddie pool)
  • Handicapped   (Handicap Accessible if meets legal requirements to be classified as such is ok)
  • Children Welcome (Restrictions/Allowances can be noted if a 55+ Community)
  • Baby’s Room or Nursery  (Alternate: Sitting Room/Bonus Room perfect for your personal needs)

More information about Fair Housing guidelines can be found here:  https://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/FHLaws/yourrights